que chesino!

I’ll be honest, when I first arrived at Lolmaia, I thought about only staying a week, not two.  I had a bit of a problem with my “room”, but I got over that.  I then had a problem with the fact that, on me and Barbara’s second and third days of work, we worked 7.5 hours to 8 hours.  WWOOFers are only supposed to work a maximum of six hours.  Otherwise, it’s considered being taken advantage of.  Believe me, I wasn’t too thrilled about working overtime.  And then there’s the whole story about me being the only one here who doesn’t speak a word of Italian.  I speak a little, but I understand maybe only 30%, thanks to my French skills.  And then I got the impression that Dario, the farmer, didn’t like me because I didn’t speak Italian.

I was hoping the problem was just my negative outlook and not the situation itself.  Sometimes, I overdramatize things in my head.  Things aren’t as bad as I make them out to be, so I need to step back and take a second look.

In fact, Dario was in over his head.  Dario has three wwoofers and two teenagers to keep busy.  He’s running behind in his soya product preparations.  He also spent four days locked up in his office filing paperwork.  He sat us down today and told us it was not his intention to work us so hard.  He doesn’t want to work us to death.  While I peeling potatoes for dinner, he said things will slow down.  We did the big load, so the days will go back to five to six hours of work.

Plums that Barbara and I picked the morning before Rocko, an Australian wwoofer, arrived.  We soak them in water and then pick out the bad ones.  Later that day, Dario had me cut them in half and pit them.  Took me about two hours.  But I sat outside and had a pretty awesome view of the Tuscan countryside right before sunset.  Can’t complain.

Me stirring soya sauce.  Not a bad tan, eh?!

Dario’s got about five of these giant barrels.  We have to stir them each everyday.  The soya sauce looks like crap, literally.

Rocko made a pie for my belated birthday.  I can’t remember how he found out it was my birthday.  He used plums we picked and cut and a marmalade Barbara made.  Super cool coincidence:  Rocko wwoofed on Vetriceto with Pierangelo and Cristina right before coming to Lolmaia. He got the recipe from Cristina.

I know I don’t have that many pictures, but it’s because we haven’t had much free time.  From now on, we should have more time to go wander and take pictures.  Lately it’s been work, work, work.

Tomorrow, Dario is going into Arezzo.  He’s dropping me and Rocko off in Monte San Savino to explore.  Can’t wait!

🙂 Julie

One thought on “que chesino!

  1. magnifiques photos. on te feras un beau gateau quand tu arriveras ma puce, tu ne perds rien pour attendre.
    Continue d’avoir une attitude positive: plus souvent qu’autrement, c’est nous memes qui nous rendons miserables par nos pensees, alors que la realite n’est pas aussi sombre que nous nous la peignons.
    Becots ma belle abeille travaillante.

Leave a Reply

