Genova

So, I may have been wrong about Genova.  Well, not exactly.  Genova is almost identical to Victoria, BC.  It’s a port, for starters.  Secondly, it’s overflowing with seniors, which I find paradoxial considering 90% of the city is on a hill.  Third, nothing stays open after 8PM.  And lastly, it’s modest.  There are no souvenir shops even though Genova has quite its share of gems.  The beaches can only be accessed by taking a bus into the posh, richer part of town.

Also, I lost a new pencil I just bought.  I cost me 1.60 euros.  Yeah, I’m not too happy about that…  Train tomorrow for Cinque Terre!!  Sooo stoked!

Oh yeah!  I bought an Opinel no. 6.  As a backpacker, it’s super useful.  I don’t know how I’ve gone this long without it.  Bernard said it’s as French as the Eiffel Tower.

Boccadasse, Genova.  I found this place by accident, but it turns out it was highlighted on the free map they give out at the hostel.  I sat on the beach and sketched for an hour.  It’s really nice because it’s only locals.

The Med.  I’m pretty sure all of the beaches, with the exception of the Boccadasse and a few others, are privatized.  Basically, from the boardwalk, you don’t see much.  You have to go down into a beach club to get access to the beach.  I somehow managed to avoid paying.  I’d like to think I’m sneaky.  I found a spot on the rocks, just next to the ladder that goes into the Med.  The water was sooo nice.  It didn’t look clean enough to dunk my head, so I didn’t.

Typical Genova beaches.  The boardwalk, a bus ride outside of the downtown core, is lined with beach clubs.  On the left, you can see a staircase that leads from the board walk to the beach club below.  Inside, you pay a fee and you get access to the change rooms, the snack bar, the pool and maybe even soccer court, a state room (at extra charge), beach chair and umbrella, and, of course, the beach.  Like I said, the receptionist was distracted so I “snuck” in and didn’t pay.  Because, in Barcelona, I burnt my back, I decided to lay on my back and even out my tan.  Yeah, my feet and legs are red.

The boardwalk.  I don’t know if Genova is really expensive to live in or if it’s just modest, but there are no street venders on the boardwalk.  As a result, the walk is so much more relaxing.  You’re not pressured by loud venders walking up to you, trying to sell stuff.  Instead, you can walk as slow as you want, look at the beach on one side and super posh townhouses on the other.

The .  About a block down from here, I sat down for lunch.  I had pasta con frutti del mare.  Like Paris, it’s really easy to find amazing food for a decent price.  I learned a valuable lesson about cafes that day though.  First, never sit at an empty cafe.  If you’re the only customer, it takes forever to get the bill.  If you do chose to sit at an empty cafe, be sure to face towards the cafe so you can signal that you want the check.  There was another thing, but I forgot what it was…

The XX Settembre strip.  It’s kind of cool, actually.  Basically, it’s the place to shop in Genova.  There’s a walkway on either side of the strip.  Neon signs flash from both ways.  It’s also really funny because they have a mix from the high-end to the affordable, in terms of stores.  For instance, McDonald’s is right next to Swarovsky, both with huge flashing neon signs.  Like the boardwalk, it’s not littered with street venders and the walkway is made up of super cool mosaics.

Piazza Colombo.  So, apparently, a long time ago, Christopher Colombus lived in Genova.  I passed by his house without even knowing it.  I looked at my map and thought: “that little thing?  he lived in that hut?!”  Apparently so.  Anyhow, they have a piazza named in his honour, just like every other european city.

The Antique Mall (I don’t know what the actual name of the place is called).  Stumbled on this totally by accident.  Quite a nice little discovery.  Well, it’s not really little.  It’s an sheltered market in which they sell only vintage and antique objects for a hefty price.

The Corso Andrea Podesta.  This bridge goes over the XX Septtembre strip.  Typical Europe: young couple in love.  pda.  Cute.

Another view of the XX Septtembre.

Again, the XX Septtembre.  I usually wouldn’t post more than two pictures of the same thing, but I’m not that great a photographer.  I need a few pictures to demonstrate how grand the strip is.  By the way, what’s so special about September 20th?

Vespas!!!  btw, this is a parking lot, not a dealership.

Christopher Columbus’ garden.  Behind it, his home… I think.  I better read up on it.  Again, a young couple in love.  pda.  cute.

Walking back to the hostel on la Vie di Pré.

Stay tuned for more!  Although if Cinque Terre turns out to be mega fun, I may not have time to post stuff.  But I’ll try!

🙂 Julie

2 thoughts on “Genova

  1. Bonjour ma puce adoree. Qu’est-ce que j’aurais aimee etre avec toi pour voir Genoa. L’Europe c’est tous ces beaux buildings, ces fontaines, et c’est si civilize!
    Bon, moi je compte les heures jusqu’a mes vacances la semaine prochaine.
    Je suis venue travailler avec un velo electrique pour 2 jours de suite. Interessant, mais ca va prendre plus d’ingenieurs pour ameliorer la technologie. Ca me prend unpeu plus d’une heure. C’est encore beaucoup de temps. Merci pour les nouvelles et les belles photos. J’ai hate de voir celles que tu prendras a Cinque Terre

Leave a Reply

