Hike to Encausse-les-Thermes

Today was my day-off, the only one I’ll be receiving during my stay here on Izaut-Rustica farm.  I started my “hike” at around 10 this morning and got back at around 3:30.  It wasn’t so much a hike as a really long walk.  Unlike yesterday, I had a physical paper map with me, instead of a picture in my camera to direct me.  The beginning started out a little rough: I took the wrong entrance to the trail…or so I thought.  A lot of the time I thought I was lost, I figured it had something to do with my map-reading skills.   To my delight, I wasn’t “lost” once.  I right where I needed to be.  The trails, on the other hand, were either missing or had been abandoned a long time ago and were now neglected patches of forest or field.  Because of this, I had to turn around and chose another route.

Starting out.  Gorgeous weather!

Crossing over the Job, entering the first town on my trek: Cabanac-Cazaux.  If you were to follow le Job in the other direction, it’d take you all the way back to Karen and Lee’s.

France is crazy for ping-pong.  They have these outdoor tables in parks in Paris, too.

Le Job.  I was super tempted to jump in, but I’m sure the locals would look at me strangely.  On my way back though, I stopped and drank some river water.

In Cazaux, a beautiful house with a beautiful garden in front.  One of the nicest homes I’ve seen since I arrived.

In Encausse-les-Thermes, none of the stores were open (it’s Sunday), but there was a mini-market going on.  So I bought a baguette and sat by the river in the shade and read the map.  Life is good…mhm.

On my way back to Izaut.  What I don’t understand is how they get soooo big, when all they eat is grass…

Starting up work again tomorrow.  I’m going to take a nap, then maybe grab some sweets from the village.

🙂 Julie

Leave a Reply

